Königliche Kutschfahrt nach London / Fotostrecken Hannover / Hannover - HAZ - Hannoversche Allgemeine

Königliche Kutschfahrt nach London / Fotostrecken Hannover / Hannover – HAZ – Hannoversche Allgemeine.

300 years ago, a provincial German ruler called Georg Ludwig, Kurfürst von Hannover, travelled by coach to London to his coronation as George I. He was the first of the House of Hanover. The four Georges kept the English throne from 1714 to 1837.

The Hannover/British society is staging a re-enactment of this journey, using the same route and a coach and four horses. The coach is due to arrive in London on the 16 May.

And what I especially love about it is that the role of George I is played not by some actor but by Wilhelm Lilje, who is of the right age and stature, but also an individual who is hugely engaged in his community. He seems to be volunteering for every good cause and last year completed 100 blood donations. There’s probably more to report.

I think all this is great. But I’m sad that there is no English language press release on their website so I’ve written to them to let me help. The press guy is on the coach as we speak, let’s see if he gets in touch.

EDIT (Since somehow loads of people are looking at this today) I was there! It was great! Some pics on my instagram.com/theanke

And it turns out it wasn’t meant to be anything big, it was privately arranged on a tiny budget. So that’s why not big press efforts.

George’s carriage in front of Buckingham Palace