On that bit in @marthalanefox’ column about Apple’s health suite: It does now measure periods, but it’s useless

Posting this here because I can’t post pictures in the Guardian’s comment section:

IMG_3758

The new version of the Health suite does have a ‘Reproductive Health’ bit where you can enter period data. I was excited by that, because surely Apple could improve on the many ways a Free Menstrual Calendar app is hugely useful in my life, no?

Yeah, no, it does nothing for me. I’ve entered my period data into both apps for a few months. I enter just the start day, it’s actually become a nice ritual for me and no hassle at all. (So I don’t need wearables for this, thanks very much.) The Apple Health app gives me the above, which is completely pointless.

As a contrast, the free app gives me the following really useful data: What day of my cycle it currently is (oh look, I’m fertile), when my next period is due (based on my average cycle length), my stats. Which I can export, in case it ever is of interest to a health professional. It’s clearly made by women, or with huge input from women, it even has themes you can use to personalise it. Cute.

IMG_3759

IMG_3760

How could Apple improve on this? Quite easily, I imagine, but here Baroness Fox is right: I don’t think they cared enough or had enough actual women to talk to.

Leave a Reply

