Subscribing to calendars would be useful, but how?

I’d love to subscribe to more calendars and I’m amazed this doesn’t seem to be a thing many organisations offer.

As an example: This is a very simple calendar http://www.ediblelandscapeslondon.org.uk/event

I can subscribe to it by copying the url from the little orange button at the bottom and copying it into the ‘add by url’ dropdown in my google calendar.

Screenshot from 2015-09-18 11:07:11

As a result, their events are in my google calendar. Updated as soon as the organisation adds something. I can set the way it looks. I can easily turn it on or off. So very useful.

Here’s what I’d like to do:

Compile a list of places I like to go and simply subscribe to their events so I can decide what I want to do depending on how I feel and how much time I have. I want it to populate a personal events calendar that I could maybe even share with a bunch of people so we can decide on doing things together, even spontaneously.

My alternative now is: Compile my list of places and periodically check their websites for what’s on and then manually add things to my calendar.

That can’t be all there is, can it?

Leave a Reply

