Experiment

My monthly cycle is still a mystery to me, even though I’ve lived with it for nearly 30 years. I feel that I should probably learn to embrace it a bit more rather than try to forget it exists [insert obligatory rant about male dominated culture where feminine stuff is taboo, feared, ridiculed, etc].

My attitudes about things change a lot during the month. I noticed that when I took a walk last night and everything and everyone was so beautiful. Ah yes, that was the high I feel every time I’ve survived another week of horrendous pain (and inconvenience, but mostly pain.)

The thing I have probably ridiculed for myself most in my life is my own approach to love. Have you noticed how male-dominated that thing is these days? We’re all supposed to want the quick fix, the drunken fumbles with people we just met. And if we have emotions that don’t comply with that model, golly aren’t we sad, ridiculous, losers. Caring is not an advantage. Etc.

Well I do care, and I’d quite like to be able to do something positive about that. Embracing people, work, change, and yes, maybe, love.

So the plan is to write a daily post about how I really feel about stuff (like love) on that day. Mostly for myself but I will publish (password-protected). Do let me know if you want to be on the receiving end, I might also publish through mailing list, possibly.

I don’t care what you think, this is for me (but do still write me comments if you have thoughts)

If you do want to get new posts in your email (I applaud your bravery), sign up here

 

Leave a Reply

