Social Media Mythbusting with Prof Brian Cox and Lord Drayson

Social Media as a serious vehicle for citizen engagement: One of the most interesting stories of the year so far happened yesterday. Brian Cox tweets something in the morning, a hashtag is created, a storm ensues, the Science Minister – who is in California at the moment – is shocked by the thousands of tweets he has received, he responds, he investigates, he debunks.

The details – and I might even have been involved.

IMG_1379

Prof Brian Cox is probably THE science superstar of the new generation. I know my son identifies him as the guy who got him to get serious about science (and my son then wrote a school essay about the Large Hadron Collider.) He uses both facebook and twitter, and his updates are identical, so I could never figure out what he actually engaged more with.

At 7.51 he tweeted and updated this: The UK continues in its bid to relegate itself to the 2nd division of scientific nations. We need a campaign. http://bit.ly/KTsNj To which I sent him a comment on Facebook, letting him know about the @reply I sent him telling him we need a hashtag, and we can create a campaign around this (I know, a bit complicated, but it clearly worked.)

And what do you know – at 9.20 we had a hashtag. At 9.29 I retweeted it to some of my friends who I know would be interested in the subject, as it’s connected to the Digital Britain debate. The hashtag #saveukscience was born, you can see all discussions by doing a quick twitter search.

At 3pm, Lord Drayson, the UK Science Minister, tweeted this: Just logged on in California (ahead of mtgs next week in SF & Silicon Valley) 2 read rumours re CERN. I will investigate & report asap.

An an hour later, this BTW- twitter really is amazing. I cant imagine any other way of communicating so directly with my “constituency”. Its v cool. #SaveUKScience

And four hours after that, he said: I have got 2 the bottom of CERN rumour. It is complete rubbish. STFC have no plans 2 exit CERN. Period. Those who RTd rumr pls RT this

So in this case we have a rumour debunked by the highest possible authority when it became clear how many people feel very strongly about this – Lord Drayson also said: Important fact re CERN. UK involvement is via an international treaty which can only be changed with my approval as science minister.

Next time who knows what it will be.

Leave a Reply

