Asking the Uni of Chester about their accreditation of Hare Krishna courses

Re. this

Just sent this letter to the University of Chester

Dear Dr Dossett,

I would like to ask about the fact that the Theological and Educational degree programmes at Bhaktivedanta College are accredited by the University of Chester.
I have been at Radhadesh as a Hare Krishna devotee and I know the content of the teachings there. They are based on the teachings of Bhaktivedanta Swami, which is fine for someone who wants to join the Hare Krishnas, but it’s not in any way an academic education in anything. And aren’t academics supposed to be at least in theory neutral about their subjects? How can an education from a cult be accredited by a UK university? I don’t understand, maybe you could explain.
I was reminded of this today when I saw an ad for an office manager at the College today which specified that the applicants need to be fully practising devotees. (And I personally know that even the basic ‘sadhana’, if followed, results in a hugely damaged personality.)
I’m hoping you have time to get back to me with some information.
Best regards
One response to “Asking the Uni of Chester about their accreditation of Hare Krishna courses

  1. Pingback: How to start a cult #Inform | Anke's·

Leave a Reply

